Audio Glossary: F

Fall, The
Christian doctrine that through the sin of Adam and Eve humanity (and each individual person) is infected with sinfulness (original sin) that no amount of striving can overcome.
North Indian poet (1173 to 1265), part of the Sant tradition antecedent to Sikhism, some of whose hymns are found in the Guru Granth Sahib.
Fellowship of St Alban and St Sergius
An independent society founded in 1928 after two Anglo-Russian conferences organised by the Student Christian Movement. It works to increase understanding and co-operation between Orthodox and Western Christian traditions.
Fire Sermon
A sermon preached by the Buddha in which he taught that everything internal and external to a person is burning with the fires of attachment, hatred, delusion, birth, ageing and death; Nirvana (or nibbana) is the putting out of these fires.
First Communion
In the Roman Catholic Church, the occasion on which children first take consecrated bread at a Mass, generally at the age of seven, is an occasion of particular celebration.
A symbol of Christianity deriving from the koiné Greek word for fish, ichthus, which is an acronym for words meaning 'Jesus Christ, Son of God, Saviour'.
Five Moral Precepts
The 5 fundamental moral principles adopted by all Buddhists (Monks, nuns and ordained Buddhists often adopt more): 1) to refrain from taking life, 2) to refrain from taking that which is not given, 3) to refrain from sexual misconduct, 4) to refrain from false speech (e.g. telling lies) 5) to refrain from taking intoxicants.
Four Noble Truths
As a result of his experience of enlightenment, Gautama Buddha realised that there were four truths existing in the universe: 1) The Noble Truth of Suffering 2) The Noble Truth of the Cause of Suffering (greed, hatred and delusion) 3) The Noble Truth of the Annihilation of Suffering and 4) The Noble Truth of the Path leading to the Annihilation of Suffering (the Noble Eightfold Path)
four species
In Hebrew Arba Minim or Lulav: a citron (etrog), a palm branch (lulav), two sprigs of willow (aravot) and three branches of myrtle (hadassim), are waved in prayer during the Jewish festival of Sukkot.